This close to reprieve

October 7, 2010 at 13:40 4 comments

Spring and autumn are my favourite times to visit a place, because it’s cool without being frigid and there won’t be a rowdy summer crowd. I’ve been to Australia, Taiwan and Japan during these seasons and have been so envious of their weather then. Well, on Saturday night, Mr. Manx and I are flying off to Paris and England! I cannot wait to be there. I was there once before as a kid. My parents took Wedoryn and I on a package tour before spending some time in England, where they went to university. In the strange way that childhood memories have, the brightest recollections are of the least obvious moments. I do remember Disneyland, but with nothing of the vibrance of Trafalgar Square, where I had a whale of a time hiding handfuls of birdseed in a five-year-old Wedoryn’s cap and sweater, then watching him get obliterated by a frantic cloud of pigeons (there are no more pigeons there now, but that’s how I want to remember it). I remember thinking that Sacher Torte was no big deal (‘cos it was dry and I didn’t like cream) (sorry, Austria) and crazily worrying at one point that we were running out of money because my dad told me that English money was worth much more than Singaporean (I was also thinking that this was not fair; my twelve-year-old self had no grasp of economics; not that I have any now).

Mr. Manx has never been, so this will be his first chance to get some authentic European memories.

Other than the awesome fact of being there, here’s what I want as a souvenir of the trip:

Well, OK, no, I don’t want Ms. Olsen Twin ‘cos I prefer dudes have Mr. Manx (this is the primary reason, non?) and it’s not even exactly her bag I’m lusting after, but these pictures show the best approximation I could find. What I want is a Chanel reissue (therefore with the Mademoiselle instead of the CC lock on Ms. OT’s bag) in distressed red (darker and more veined than Ms. OT’s bag) and silver hardware (completely different from Ms. OT’s bag), size large (similar to Ms. OT’s bag). If I find it and get it, I would certainly wear it with a black dress or with neutral-top-and-jeans like Ms. OT in the first two pictures, but definitely not with evening wear. Maybe it’s just my funny eye, but I’ve never fancied Chanel classic flaps as evening bags. Expensive, luxurious and beautifully-made though they are, to me they lack the frivolity? whimsy? essential uselessness? of a real evening bag. It probably has something to do with the combination of boxy shape and shoulder strap. Besides, if one carries a Chanel classic flap to a posh event, one runs the very real risk of meeting five other women in the room with the same idea – tres bummer. Now, if one, on the other hand, carries a non-black, functional-sized Chanel classic flap in the daytime, one stands a much better chance of being quite unique.

I like being unique.

Entry filed under: Dear Diary. Tags: , , , .

On the bright side Never got much closer to reprieve

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Simon  |  October 7, 2010 at 21:59

    Hey, I just realised y’all are going for a hol..and to Paris and England somemore..shioks! Enjoy yourselves and post pics ya? :p

    Reply
    • 2. Katie  |  October 8, 2010 at 16:01

      Thank you! Definitely pics will be taken… the real challenge is if we are too lazy to put them up… hehe…

      Reply
  • 3. flaneurvric  |  October 8, 2010 at 03:00

    If you change your mind and would an Olsen twin of your very own, let me know. I think they’re generally West-Coast based, but either one could probably fit in a standard mailing box.

    Reply
  • 4. Katie  |  October 9, 2010 at 15:31

    Haha, yes, very true! It might even be possible to have both in the same box. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!


My blog-name is Katie but I will not respond if you call me that in real life because it's not my real name. Yes, I do practise virtual-world paranoia. No, I do not enjoy stalkers. But I do enjoy writing and having folks reading said writing, so welcome to my world. It's nice to meet you.

Playing in my head over and over again argh

I'll Have To Say I Love You In A Song (Jim Croce)

Book(s) of the moment

Hogfather (Terry Pratchett)

Books read in 2010 and 2011

Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows (JK Rowling) - 'cos the movie's coming out!
Frankenstein: Lost Souls (Dean Koontz) - ah, bugger, it's part of a series! Now I hafta find all the books...
Dismantled (Jennifer McMahon) - oh, good one
Tigerlily's Orchids (Ruth Rendell)
Shutter Island (Dennis LeHane) - reminds me too much of work
Holy Fools (Joanne Harris) - it's official: I prefer her scary books
A Series of Unfortunate Events; The Unauthorized Autobiography; The Beatrice Letters (Lemony Snicket)
The Little Friend (Donna Tartt)
The main books - 11 so far - of the Southern Vampire series; the Aurora Teagarden series except for A Fool & His Honey - that makes it 7; Sweet & Deadly (Charlaine Harris)
The Woman in Black (Susan Hill)
Full Dark, No Stars (Stephen King)
Room: A Novel (Emma Donaghue)
Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children (Ransom Riggs)
The Bachman Books (Stephen King)
Men At Arms (Terry Pratchett)
Carpe Jugulum (Terry Pratchett)
The Fifth Elephant (Terry Pratchett)
Beauty (Robin McKinley)
The Sandman, Vol 1 (Neil Gaiman)
The Burden (Agatha Christie) - her crime novels are waaay better
Snuff (Terry Pratchett)

Visit my photoblog!

I started my first photoblog on 3 May, 2009. Each post features one picture, with a little story of how it came about. Do take a look by clicking on: Manx Pictures
October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Delicious Bookmarks

Archives

Don’t say I didn’t say this…

Disclaimers: 1) I cannot help but bitch about work sometimes, but everything here comes under the realm of personal remarks, and nothing here is said in my professional capacity. Nor does anything here reflect the opinion of the institutions that employ me. This is just me shooting off. 2) Most identities have been anonymized, particularly those of folks I know on a personal basis. Same goes for my workplaces. However, commercial and public places and figures remain named. Otherwise some things just wouldn't make sense. 3) Links and sources have been provided where appropriate and possible. They are not meant to challenge anyone's ownership. If this causes any discomfort or offence, please let me know.

Visited

  • 78,304 times since 10 March 2009. Thank you and I hope to see you again!

