In the arsenal of this online bag-shopper

December 17, 2009 at 20:43 6 comments

After my first few weeks as an online bag-shopper, I thought I’d share some of my experiences. I’ve come to think that online shopping is da bomb when it comes to bags. Unlike clothes or shoes, there are no worries about quirks of fit. There’s no such rubbish as one country’s size 8 being another’s size 12, or if the object runs true to size or not.  Of course, you don’t get to see the bag’s exact colour, or feel how smooshy it is, or try how it looks in proportion to your frame, but you can always Google up some info and pictures.

But the very best thing, in my opinion, is that online shopping lets you enjoy some pretty amazing discounts on designer bags. Here are a couple of sites I’ve been visiting:

Reebonz – this is a Singapore-based site that holds two-day sales of various luxury goods and events, such as Prada, Miu Miu and Gucci bags, at up to 60% off. Payment is by Paypal or major credit cards. Being a local site, they’ll get the goods to you a week after the end of sale, maybe a bit more if it’s peak period. And they do deliver. I’ve had two bags from them already – a red Kate Spade Carlsbad Vanessa and a brown Coach full-leather shoulder bag, both at sub-S$400. Both were new and full of that magical leather smell, and had original prices of S$600-700ish. Very yummy. I recommend heartily.

Gilt Groupe – this is a US site. It offers a better variety than Reebonz – bags, clothes, shoes, wines, jewellery, watches – also in two-day sales. I like that it stocks odder brands (to a Singaporean, that is; an American might disagree – whaddaya say, Vric?) like Rebecca Minkoff, Francesca Biasia, Lauren Merkin and Botkier, also at significant discounts. For example, I ordered a Rebecca Minkoff Nikki Hobo, which goes for US$595 on the RM site, but which went for US$298 on GG. I read that RM bags are available in Singapore, at a place called Quintessential, but I have heard that prices begin at about S$900. The main problem with ordering from US sites when you’re in Singapore is that these sites 1) don’t ship outside the US and 2) only accept US-based credit cards. So how is it done?

Answer: delivery sites that give you a US address and concierge services, then ship your stuff to you in Singapore.

Viaddress – you can choose to pay either S$4.95 per package or S$9.95 a month for unlimited packages. The (free!) concierge service is pretty good so far. They ordered the RM Nikki from Gilt Groupe for me. My favourite part is that they process the order within twelve hours of submission. That is vitally important in sales that last only two days. Furthermore, they send emails telling you when your order has been accepted, or is being shipped, by the merchant. Also, the cap on each free-concierged package is US$1000, which is pretty generous unless you’re buying diamonds or furniture. The one thing I definitely dislike about Viaddress so far is their website, which comes in annoying rainbow colours and is not very user-friendly. I cannot comment about the shipping charges or speed of delivery yet, but I will when my Nikki arrives.

Borderlinx – a site that only Citibank members are eligible to use. Same principle as Viaddress, but loses because 1) the (also free) concierge service only operates during US office hours and takes up to three days to place your order, making it perfectly useless for two-day sales, particularly those that take place over the weekend (and that, Kel, was how that Lauren Merkin clutch and I parted ways); 2) the cap on each free-concierged package is only US$500, which would have worked out to 5/6 of a full-priced Rebecca Minkoff Nikki. Hmm. Still, it is usable for non-time-limited discounted items, such as the Kate Spade Boerum Hill Brennan I ordered. However, they sent no emails updating me on the status of the order processing; I had to log in obsessively to check. Let’s see how it does on shipping charges and speed.

Thus equipped, are you game to give it a try? I’m happy for you to use this link to Reebonz and this link to Gilt Groupe to take a spin (that’s the only way to obtain access to the treasure trove). But now that you also know how to snag your preciouses back to Singapore, gals, it ain’t just hypothetical anymore.

Entry filed under: Dear Diary. Tags: , .

Metal staples ain’t for eating, boys n’ girls The skater

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kel  |  December 19, 2009 at 02:04

    AAAAH! tt is so sad.. i was looking forward to see the clutch. ):

    Reply
    • 2. Katie  |  December 19, 2009 at 11:19

      SO WAS I!!! Wehhhhh…

      Reply
  • 3. flaneurvric  |  December 22, 2009 at 19:16

    Well, those brands sound odd to this odd American, but I’m not exactly known for my bag-buying prowess. (Most of my bags are from Old Navy or Target.) Still, I really am enjoying your adventures in buying bags! It makes me want to enter this new world (maybe I can buy bags, too! Plus, I have an actual US address!)–I feel so inspired! (Also, if you happen to want to bid on anything in the next few days, let me know. You can have your bounty delivered to my parents’ address and I can bring it back with me in a couple weeks.)

    Reply
    • 4. Katie  |  January 1, 2010 at 10:24

      You are the sweetest! Hope you’re having a great time at home – you TOTALLY deserve it.

      Reply
  • 5. Marcella  |  March 18, 2010 at 03:47

    Thank you for introducing me to the Gilt Groupe, I didn’t even know that such a cool site even existed !! I’m so addicted to them right night :) I’m also using the free concierge service on Viaddress.com following your recommendations.

    Reply
    • 6. Katie  |  April 3, 2010 at 13:40

      Hi Marcella, thank you for reading and commenting! Online shopping is addictive, isn’t it? My current craze in Bonanzle, which is a nicer variant of eBay. Happy shopping and have a great weekend!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!


My blog-name is Katie but I will not respond if you call me that in real life because it's not my real name. Yes, I do practise virtual-world paranoia. No, I do not enjoy stalkers. But I do enjoy writing and having folks reading said writing, so welcome to my world. It's nice to meet you.

Playing in my head over and over again argh

I'll Have To Say I Love You In A Song (Jim Croce)

Book(s) of the moment

Hogfather (Terry Pratchett)

Books read in 2010 and 2011

Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows (JK Rowling) - 'cos the movie's coming out!
Frankenstein: Lost Souls (Dean Koontz) - ah, bugger, it's part of a series! Now I hafta find all the books...
Dismantled (Jennifer McMahon) - oh, good one
Tigerlily's Orchids (Ruth Rendell)
Shutter Island (Dennis LeHane) - reminds me too much of work
Holy Fools (Joanne Harris) - it's official: I prefer her scary books
A Series of Unfortunate Events; The Unauthorized Autobiography; The Beatrice Letters (Lemony Snicket)
The Little Friend (Donna Tartt)
The main books - 11 so far - of the Southern Vampire series; the Aurora Teagarden series except for A Fool & His Honey - that makes it 7; Sweet & Deadly (Charlaine Harris)
The Woman in Black (Susan Hill)
Full Dark, No Stars (Stephen King)
Room: A Novel (Emma Donaghue)
Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children (Ransom Riggs)
The Bachman Books (Stephen King)
Men At Arms (Terry Pratchett)
Carpe Jugulum (Terry Pratchett)
The Fifth Elephant (Terry Pratchett)
Beauty (Robin McKinley)
The Sandman, Vol 1 (Neil Gaiman)
The Burden (Agatha Christie) - her crime novels are waaay better
Snuff (Terry Pratchett)

Visit my photoblog!

I started my first photoblog on 3 May, 2009. Each post features one picture, with a little story of how it came about. Do take a look by clicking on: Manx Pictures
December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Delicious Bookmarks

Archives

Don’t say I didn’t say this…

Disclaimers: 1) I cannot help but bitch about work sometimes, but everything here comes under the realm of personal remarks, and nothing here is said in my professional capacity. Nor does anything here reflect the opinion of the institutions that employ me. This is just me shooting off. 2) Most identities have been anonymized, particularly those of folks I know on a personal basis. Same goes for my workplaces. However, commercial and public places and figures remain named. Otherwise some things just wouldn't make sense. 3) Links and sources have been provided where appropriate and possible. They are not meant to challenge anyone's ownership. If this causes any discomfort or offence, please let me know.

Visited

  • 78,172 times since 10 March 2009. Thank you and I hope to see you again!

