Patient for the day

December 10, 2009 at 17:14 10 comments

I can hardly believe that this has happened, but I have managed to land myself in hospital today. As a patient.

It started like any other day. I got up, went to work, did the ward round, terrorized my medical student, scolded a particularly blur nurse. Then I went out for lunch with my friends, and that was when the problem started. I ordered rice with curried pork and was just getting done with it, when I felt something hard and thin in the mouthful of rice I was swallowing. The next thing I know, the object was definitely going down the absolute wrong way, and very very painfully. I took a gulp of my iced lemon tea. No help. I took another mouthful of rice to try to shove it down. Much worse. I started to gag and tear, and yelped to my friends, “Argh! Bone! Bone!”

Very quickly, my good friend Cornetto drove me down to the emergency department at Changi General Hospital. Both of us are spatially challenged in the extreme, but we got there after just a couple of wrong turns, and he dropped me off at the A&E.

Again quite quickly, they did a neck X-ray in preparation for my medical consult. After it was done, the X-ray technicians stopped me with an odd expression and said, “Excuse me, miss, but were you wearing a necklace or maybe earrings when you did the X-ray?”

I was not. I rarely wear jewellery and I don’t even have pierced ears. I asked why they said that.

“Because there’s something in your throat and it looks like a metal staple.”

AIIIEEEEEEEE!!!

I KNEW that sliced pork doesn’t usually come with sharp edges.

The doc I saw after that happened to be my classmate from medical school and he quickly referred me to the ENT clinic upstairs. The registrar there did a nasal scope (a yucky experience) and pronounced the staple-like object too deep for immediate extraction. I thought, “F.”

He said, “We need to get you to do a rigid scope for a better look. Under GA. Which means you need to be admitted now.”

I thought, “FFFFFFFF.”

I should not have worn my red underwear today. Red underwear is unlucky.

So here I am in my A-class room, where, to my delight, exists a computer terminal with Internet access. It’s quite fancy, really. I’d plug in a picture here, but I don’t know how.

My little op will take place at about seven tonight. It’s now a little past five. The wait is necessary because I need to digest the lunch that caused all this trouble in the first place. It would be great to have this damn staple out because it hurts like a bitch right now.

Entry filed under: Dear Diary. Tags: , , .

Testing testing: the Borderlinx concierge service Metal staples ain’t for eating, boys n’ girls

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. flaneurvric  |  December 10, 2009 at 23:39

    Man, this is unfortunate…I am glad, though, that you get the small consolation of having internet access in your room. I hope all went well with your operation.

    I am glad to hear that you’re hopefully destined for stable removal via scope. It would be ridiculous if you had to undergo a procedure that was closed with staples.

    Sorry for the bad joke. Clearly, I can’t resist being unfunny.

    Reply
    • 2. Katie  |  December 15, 2009 at 16:03

      Like, ten staples for the price of one, eh? Hehe. I’m actually carrying the damn thing around with me – will show you when we next meet! :)

      Reply
  • 3. kel  |  December 12, 2009 at 02:03

    it’s almost unreal still. hope u’re healing well..
    whoever sold u the food should be made aware of this incident!

    Reply
    • 4. Katie  |  December 15, 2009 at 16:04

      Haiz my friends say that I should report to NEA.

      Reply
      • 5. kel  |  December 16, 2009 at 02:04

        i think you should have! u dun seem like u intend to. hmms.

      • 6. Katie  |  December 16, 2009 at 15:20

        Too busy eh. I haven’t even had time to submit my hospitalization receipt for reimbursement yet! Sigh.

  • 7. purplejake  |  December 14, 2009 at 04:47

    Hello sweet blogging companion, You have become quite a bagaholic since we last spoke, haven’t you?! Perhaps it was always nascent within you! I hope you are happy with your purchases and that they gave you comfort following those horrible things they did to you at the hospital. I find that stroking favourite possessions is very cathartic when none of the family is around to give me a hug! I hope the staple is well and truly gone and that you have told the restaurant that you expect free dinners for the rest of your life. Then again, you may not want to go back there…. Whatever, I hope you’re feeling chipper again and will be back to blogomatix soon!

    Reply
    • 8. Katie  |  December 15, 2009 at 16:10

      Heyhey Purplejake, much much thanks. I am definitely bagaholicized and have become a keen evangelist of discount online shopping. I now carry the rogue staple around with me as a reminder of the unpredictability of life and the preciousness of friends. I have so many blog ideas pinging in my head, but no time to write them because of the slew of night calls, medical reports and other %*#& that invaded my life this week, and that is actually immensely uncomfortable for my peabrain! :)

      Reply
  • 9. zensojourner  |  December 14, 2009 at 07:00

    But its good that you are alright now:) No more red underwear!

    Reply
    • 10. Katie  |  December 15, 2009 at 16:11

      No, Superman and I are through.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!


My blog-name is Katie but I will not respond if you call me that in real life because it's not my real name. Yes, I do practise virtual-world paranoia. No, I do not enjoy stalkers. But I do enjoy writing and having folks reading said writing, so welcome to my world. It's nice to meet you.

Playing in my head over and over again argh

I'll Have To Say I Love You In A Song (Jim Croce)

Book(s) of the moment

Hogfather (Terry Pratchett)

Books read in 2010 and 2011

Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows (JK Rowling) - 'cos the movie's coming out!
Frankenstein: Lost Souls (Dean Koontz) - ah, bugger, it's part of a series! Now I hafta find all the books...
Dismantled (Jennifer McMahon) - oh, good one
Tigerlily's Orchids (Ruth Rendell)
Shutter Island (Dennis LeHane) - reminds me too much of work
Holy Fools (Joanne Harris) - it's official: I prefer her scary books
A Series of Unfortunate Events; The Unauthorized Autobiography; The Beatrice Letters (Lemony Snicket)
The Little Friend (Donna Tartt)
The main books - 11 so far - of the Southern Vampire series; the Aurora Teagarden series except for A Fool & His Honey - that makes it 7; Sweet & Deadly (Charlaine Harris)
The Woman in Black (Susan Hill)
Full Dark, No Stars (Stephen King)
Room: A Novel (Emma Donaghue)
Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children (Ransom Riggs)
The Bachman Books (Stephen King)
Men At Arms (Terry Pratchett)
Carpe Jugulum (Terry Pratchett)
The Fifth Elephant (Terry Pratchett)
Beauty (Robin McKinley)
The Sandman, Vol 1 (Neil Gaiman)
The Burden (Agatha Christie) - her crime novels are waaay better
Snuff (Terry Pratchett)

Visit my photoblog!

I started my first photoblog on 3 May, 2009. Each post features one picture, with a little story of how it came about. Do take a look by clicking on: Manx Pictures
December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Delicious Bookmarks

Archives

Don’t say I didn’t say this…

Disclaimers: 1) I cannot help but bitch about work sometimes, but everything here comes under the realm of personal remarks, and nothing here is said in my professional capacity. Nor does anything here reflect the opinion of the institutions that employ me. This is just me shooting off. 2) Most identities have been anonymized, particularly those of folks I know on a personal basis. Same goes for my workplaces. However, commercial and public places and figures remain named. Otherwise some things just wouldn't make sense. 3) Links and sources have been provided where appropriate and possible. They are not meant to challenge anyone's ownership. If this causes any discomfort or offence, please let me know.

Visited

  • 77,749 times since 10 March 2009. Thank you and I hope to see you again!

