Reebonz – too good to be true?

November 28, 2009 at 19:14 18 comments

With one part of me looking on in stunned disbelief, the rest of me has moved on to online shopping. Yes, I know that I am a Neanderthal, but I never trusted things that I could not see, feel, try, stroke and grope before buying… and now I sound like a perv. Ahem. Well, things have changed. Blame it on the bags.

Because of bags, I have bumbled my way onto several discount-luxury sites. Today I’d like to talk about one of these sites, called Reebonz (apparently pronounced ‘ribbons’, which I can’t quite bring myself to do; I have the same problem with the word ‘herb’). It’s a Singapore-based site that sells designer brands at slashed prices, in online sales that last only two to three days each. It can do so because it sells “overstock of off-season apparels, handbags, accessories and shoes” (I am quoting from its Help section). What brands? Quite a lot – Tod’s, Ferragamo, Cole Haan, Bottega Veneta, Prada and Miu Miu have all made appearances (be still my beating heart). How discounted? Quite a bit – up to 40% off Bottegas and 70% off Coach jewellery.

Droolfest...

Also, being a Singaporean establishment, the local deliveries get done by seven days from the end of the sale, for a small fee of S$9.90. They take Paypal and major credit cards, some of which allow you to pay in installments.

The million-dollar questions are, obviously, is the stuff authentic? And does it actually arrive?

I don’t know yet. But I’m going to find out quite soon.

Earlier this week, I saw, to my delight, a Kate Spade bag sale at up to 70% off. I had been obsessively stalking the official Kate Spade site for a couple of weeks and knew what I wanted. I didn’t expect to see current bags on Reebonz, and indeed I did not, but there were still some beauties there. And guess what – I bought one.

One more time – I bought one!!!

Heh. I don’t know the actual name of the bag (Googling skills not sharp enough, clearly), but it’s a shoulder tote with a long adjustable strap, in croc-embossed red leather. From the front it’s the shape of a tall trapezium, almost square, elevenish inches high and tennish across. It’s got two compartments that look like an accordion from the side. There’s a turn-lock closure with ‘Kate Spade’ written across the locking bar. If anyone can tell the actual name from this half-assed description, please put me out of my misery. Addendum – I have found out what it is! It’s a Carlsbad Vanessa, small and double-gusseted. The Internet rules.

So I’ve paid S$399 – no, minus the S$50 credits for signing up, so S$349 –  for this bag. I can’t remember the exact original cost, but I think it was over S$700. That’s a pretty good saving. With it I could get a… Longchamp Le Pliage…?

(Bad girl, Katie, bad, bad!)

I’m waiting to see if it will indeed come, and in the form of a bona fide Kate Spade, which I intend to study the characteristics of soon. If it does, then I will proceed to heartily recommend Reebonz to anyone who might be interested. This needs to be done, because membership is strictly by invitation only. But I refuse to spread the infection until the site has actually delivered my stuff to me.

Which, by the way, makes it even madder of me to have succumbed to a Coach Soho Pleated Leather Large Flap Bag in Walnut as well, three days ago, again for S$399, down from the original price of S$675. The savings could get me a pair of Stuart Weitzmans or a nice Junior Drake bag from another site…

My new Brown Bag. Note the lack of Giant C's, which I absolutely loathe.

My new Brown Bag For Work... if it really arrives. Note the absence of Giant C's, which I absolutely loathe.

Dear Mr. Manx, if you happen to reading this part and haven’t fainted yet, well, um, uh… look, dead bird! <runs away>

We’ll see what happens by the end of the week, which is when my Kate Spade is supposed to arrive. The Coach will take a few days longer. Watch out for updates!

Update: the Kate Spade Carlsbad Vanessa and Coach Soho made their ways quickly and safely to me, as did a Gucci keypouch I bought some time later. I am a happy Katie. 

Entry filed under: Being Girly, Dear Diary. Tags: , .

Kapoot Reebonz has delivered!!!

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kel  |  December 1, 2009 at 00:12

    has it arrived yet?? *excited*
    katespade site seems to be having free shipping and up to 75% off!
    #screams#

    but.. i must save money. i wanna travel next year..

    Reply
  • 2. Cheeny  |  July 30, 2010 at 00:41

    So did your purchases arrive?

    Reply
    • 3. Katie  |  September 30, 2010 at 16:48

      They always do . :)

      Reply
  • 4. Darren  |  October 10, 2010 at 22:49

    Interesting. Did they provide u with stuff like authenticity cards etc? I’d appreciate it if u respond :D Thanks

    Reply
    • 5. Katie  |  October 18, 2010 at 02:14

      Yes, Darren, they did for the things I bought (so far two bags and a keypouch), and looking at the quality of these items nearly one year on, I’m quite sure they’re OK. I think that authenticity will always be a bit of an issue when it comes to buying from these sites, since you have no way of physically examining the item you’re going to buy, and authenticity doesn’t guarantee flawlessness, and returns are not always possible. To play safe, I don’t buy the really expensive stuff like Chanel or Bal, but limit myself to the occasional three-digit-figure goodie. Hope this helps. :)

      Reply
  • 6. Reebonz  |  December 12, 2010 at 17:24

    if it is not FAKE it will cost you higher, there will be no 70% Bull S*** SALE

    Reply
    • 7. Katie  |  December 13, 2010 at 10:19

      Thank you for your insightful comment (though your expletive has been edited).

      Reply
  • 8. V  |  March 2, 2011 at 23:39

    I think that reebonz is real. I just got a lady dior from there and went to the dior boutique to get it checked. they said it was real. And these brands are all more ex in uk or usa. So I dont think its that crazy.

    Reply
    • 9. V  |  March 2, 2011 at 23:45

      And these brands are all more ex than in uk or usa. So I dont think its that crazy. **

      Reply
      • 10. Katie  |  November 14, 2011 at 14:39

        Hi V – if that’s crazy then I must be certifiable! I’ve been happily enjoying my Reebonz purchases for some time now. :)

  • 11. Hayley  |  October 26, 2011 at 11:56

    Hi I stumbled on your blog and I would just like to say that the items sold are definitely not fake. They are just from the states. I live in the states and I often visit reebonz cos’ I am actually Singaporean! Big surprise. haha.
    I actually purchase my items from the outlets in the states and the prices at reebonz are still slightly more expensive than they are in the outlets. maybe a hundred or so.
    Ya, so you don’t have to worry. The reason why reebonz hasn’t brought in LV (brand new) is because they do not have an outlet in the states.
    Prada, bottega, burberry, they are all available in the outlets.

    Just my 2 cents.
    And I am definitely not working for reebonz. Just being a good samaritan.

    Reply
    • 12. Katie  |  November 14, 2011 at 14:33

      Hi Hayley, thank you for your informative comment! I didn’t know all that about the US outlets – I have learnt something from you today! It does make sense then that Reebonz prices their stuff in between full-price and outlet-price. I am envious of your shopping opportunities. :)

      Reply
  • 13. MissyA  |  November 16, 2011 at 19:40

    so, how’s your bags’ condition? I actually bought 2 bags from Reebonz also, 1 Kate Spade & 1 Prada, but the Kate Spade has some defects on the zip & leather. I kept on thinking whether it is the rejected item, and I had read some really scary comments about Prada bags from Reebonz after I bought my Prada bag, till now I still doubtful whether my bags are authentic =(

    Reply
    • 14. Katie  |  November 16, 2011 at 20:20

      Hi MissyA, I’m sorry to hear that; I know it’s horrible to feel that way about a bag you’ve already bought. I’ve been pretty lucky about my purchases from Reebonz – I have a Kate Spade that’s doing fine, a Coach that had some stitching come out but nothing irreparable, and my favourite, which is a Gucci key pouch I’ve been using daily for the past two years and is a real trooper.

      If it’s authenticity you’re worried about, may I direct you to a website that I’ve found useful? You may have heard about a site called The Purse Forum – it’s reputable and well-populated with people (mostly ladies) who are interested and knowledgeable about bags. Sub-forums are categorized according to brand and most have a thread dedicated to helping folks see if their bag is authentic – nothing official, mind you, but very helpful for online (like eBay) purchases. I got the Balenciaga ladies to vet my Part-Time before I put money down on it. Here is the link to the Authenticate This Prada thread – I hope this helps!

      Reply
      • 15. MissyA  |  November 17, 2011 at 09:36

        heard about this thread before, was considering to post it there, but on the other hand,in my heart there is a little voice keeps on saying what to do if it is fake…. =(

        Furthermore, the price of the bags stated in the invoices that I received are much more cheaper than what I paid, very suspicious??!!

        I think when you really interested to buy from them, need to double check the price because the discount sometimes not that much as what they claimed.

        Thanks for your suggestion =)

      • 16. Katie  |  November 17, 2011 at 12:48

        You’re most welcome. I really hope that you can find a way to enjoy your bag!

  • 17. boo boo  |  December 10, 2011 at 11:05

    Juz wanna share my first (and should be my last) experience with Reebonz. i juz bought a Furla watch from Reebonz website, being tempted by the great discount. Unfortunately the item delivered was a far cry from what i had expected. The box that bear the brand name was peeled off at one side of the box, and they used a scotch tape to juz stick it back! The worst was the watch itself–the face was full of scratches! and one particular hole for securing the leather strap was deeply punctured, as if it has been ‘poked” in that particular hole for long! What is this?? It looked more like a second hand item! Very angry with such quality. Have wrote in to ask for full refund.

    Reply
    • 18. Katie  |  December 10, 2011 at 15:08

      Yikes, that sounds like a terrible experience, boo boo! I’d be angry too if it happened to me. It looks like Reebonz has its hits and misses. Thank you for sharing this. I’m sorry this happened to you and hope that you get the full refund that you clearly deserve.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!


My blog-name is Katie but I will not respond if you call me that in real life because it's not my real name. Yes, I do practise virtual-world paranoia. No, I do not enjoy stalkers. But I do enjoy writing and having folks reading said writing, so welcome to my world. It's nice to meet you.

Playing in my head over and over again argh

I'll Have To Say I Love You In A Song (Jim Croce)

Book(s) of the moment

Hogfather (Terry Pratchett)

Books read in 2010 and 2011

Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows (JK Rowling) - 'cos the movie's coming out!
Frankenstein: Lost Souls (Dean Koontz) - ah, bugger, it's part of a series! Now I hafta find all the books...
Dismantled (Jennifer McMahon) - oh, good one
Tigerlily's Orchids (Ruth Rendell)
Shutter Island (Dennis LeHane) - reminds me too much of work
Holy Fools (Joanne Harris) - it's official: I prefer her scary books
A Series of Unfortunate Events; The Unauthorized Autobiography; The Beatrice Letters (Lemony Snicket)
The Little Friend (Donna Tartt)
The main books - 11 so far - of the Southern Vampire series; the Aurora Teagarden series except for A Fool & His Honey - that makes it 7; Sweet & Deadly (Charlaine Harris)
The Woman in Black (Susan Hill)
Full Dark, No Stars (Stephen King)
Room: A Novel (Emma Donaghue)
Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children (Ransom Riggs)
The Bachman Books (Stephen King)
Men At Arms (Terry Pratchett)
Carpe Jugulum (Terry Pratchett)
The Fifth Elephant (Terry Pratchett)
Beauty (Robin McKinley)
The Sandman, Vol 1 (Neil Gaiman)
The Burden (Agatha Christie) - her crime novels are waaay better
Snuff (Terry Pratchett)

Visit my photoblog!

I started my first photoblog on 3 May, 2009. Each post features one picture, with a little story of how it came about. Do take a look by clicking on: Manx Pictures
November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Delicious Bookmarks

Archives

Don’t say I didn’t say this…

Disclaimers: 1) I cannot help but bitch about work sometimes, but everything here comes under the realm of personal remarks, and nothing here is said in my professional capacity. Nor does anything here reflect the opinion of the institutions that employ me. This is just me shooting off. 2) Most identities have been anonymized, particularly those of folks I know on a personal basis. Same goes for my workplaces. However, commercial and public places and figures remain named. Otherwise some things just wouldn't make sense. 3) Links and sources have been provided where appropriate and possible. They are not meant to challenge anyone's ownership. If this causes any discomfort or offence, please let me know.

Visited

  • 78,304 times since 10 March 2009. Thank you and I hope to see you again!

