The Risen & The Fallen

September 11, 2009 at 21:33 9 comments

These pictures are a follow-up to yesterday’s entry.

Survivor of Suicide Attempt

Survivor of Suicide Attempt

This is the psychopathic and suicidal cichlid. There used to be a whole tank of these critters in the room – bloody-minded, lascivious, carnivorous and sometimes downright cannibalistic little monsters. This fellow was the biggest and baddest grand-daddy of the lot. After the monster tank got neutralized, he got his own private tank… or rather, torture chamber, because the guys wanted to know what would happen to a fish whose water contained a healthy dose of Paliperidone.

Answer: It becomes fat and slow. Not terribly different from human beings.

Anyway, this is a post-suicide attempt shot. I thought that he’d die for sure, because he had turned white and sloughy at the scales and in one eye, but actually he looks like he’s pretty much back to normal now. Evidently there is a piscine version of Heroes, and Sylar is in the room tank.

Les Escargots Mort

Les Escargots Mort

This is the plate of shrivelled snails – a.k.a. evil invaders of Monty’s shrimp tank – and the long-handled tweezers we use to pluck them out. The death toll grows day by day, and I guess there must be something like 70 – 80 little corpses on the plate by now. Only now it’s not as clean as it is in the picture. After today’s harvest, Orange squirted half a bottle of alcohol handrub into the mass grave and ThirdEye set it alight with a match. You could almost hear the tiny screams, and that was strangely therapeutic for all of us.

<Checks for horns and tail… definitely there>

Thank God it’s Friday.

Entry filed under: Dear Diary, Photography. Tags: , .

Blitzed Out For Want Of A Nail

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. flaneurvric  |  September 11, 2009 at 23:05

    Needless to say, your office sounds a lot more exciting than mine, though mine may soon have an obnoxiously large map of the United States hanging over my desk (I’m kidding, I think, but I have no idea what to do with that map). I don’t the map can compete with suicidal cichlids or a mass extermination of snails. Oh, well.

    By the way, would you like an obnoxiously large map of the United States?

    Reply
    • 2. flaneurvric  |  September 11, 2009 at 23:06

      I meant to say, “I don’t THINK the map can compete…” Yay for proofreading!

      Reply
      • 3. Katie  |  September 12, 2009 at 13:52

        Nah, I think you should DEFINITELY hang up the map over your desk. Flag of defiance and all. :) One day I should blog about the Nerf guns, to give a more complete picture of the office. BTW would you mind if I added you to my blogroll? :)

  • 4. Monty  |  September 12, 2009 at 03:03

    good grief!!!

    Reply
    • 5. Katie  |  September 12, 2009 at 13:57

      You would have enjoyed the sight. :)

      Reply
  • 6. apparently orange  |  September 12, 2009 at 10:20

    1. i think it is a tilapia, not a cichlid.
    2. since when am i orange?
    3. u forgot to mention the significance in the blackness of the snails ;P

    Reply
    • 7. Katie  |  September 12, 2009 at 13:56

      1. Thought tilapias are types of cichlids? Dunno for sure tho. ‘Suicidal tilapia’ is kinda a mouthful.
      2. Cos only you will wear bright orange to work. Nothing to do with shape or species.
      3. True. And now they are blacker than ever.

      ;)

      Reply
  • 8. flaneurvric  |  September 12, 2009 at 23:10

    D’oh–for some reason I can’t reply directly to your comment.

    I would be honored to be included in your blogroll! I would very much like to reciprocate, but you should know that the majority of my readership is comprised of two groups: my relatives and people doing internet searches for pictures of squirrels.

    Unfortunately, I’m not lying about the squirrel thing.

    Reply
    • 9. Katie  |  September 13, 2009 at 21:00

      Haha, that’s cool with me so will leave it up to you to decide if you wanna add me to yours. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!


My blog-name is Katie but I will not respond if you call me that in real life because it's not my real name. Yes, I do practise virtual-world paranoia. No, I do not enjoy stalkers. But I do enjoy writing and having folks reading said writing, so welcome to my world. It's nice to meet you.

Playing in my head over and over again argh

I'll Have To Say I Love You In A Song (Jim Croce)

Book(s) of the moment

Hogfather (Terry Pratchett)

Books read in 2010 and 2011

Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows (JK Rowling) - 'cos the movie's coming out!
Frankenstein: Lost Souls (Dean Koontz) - ah, bugger, it's part of a series! Now I hafta find all the books...
Dismantled (Jennifer McMahon) - oh, good one
Tigerlily's Orchids (Ruth Rendell)
Shutter Island (Dennis LeHane) - reminds me too much of work
Holy Fools (Joanne Harris) - it's official: I prefer her scary books
A Series of Unfortunate Events; The Unauthorized Autobiography; The Beatrice Letters (Lemony Snicket)
The Little Friend (Donna Tartt)
The main books - 11 so far - of the Southern Vampire series; the Aurora Teagarden series except for A Fool & His Honey - that makes it 7; Sweet & Deadly (Charlaine Harris)
The Woman in Black (Susan Hill)
Full Dark, No Stars (Stephen King)
Room: A Novel (Emma Donaghue)
Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children (Ransom Riggs)
The Bachman Books (Stephen King)
Men At Arms (Terry Pratchett)
Carpe Jugulum (Terry Pratchett)
The Fifth Elephant (Terry Pratchett)
Beauty (Robin McKinley)
The Sandman, Vol 1 (Neil Gaiman)
The Burden (Agatha Christie) - her crime novels are waaay better
Snuff (Terry Pratchett)

Visit my photoblog!

I started my first photoblog on 3 May, 2009. Each post features one picture, with a little story of how it came about. Do take a look by clicking on: Manx Pictures
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Delicious Bookmarks

Archives

Don’t say I didn’t say this…

Disclaimers: 1) I cannot help but bitch about work sometimes, but everything here comes under the realm of personal remarks, and nothing here is said in my professional capacity. Nor does anything here reflect the opinion of the institutions that employ me. This is just me shooting off. 2) Most identities have been anonymized, particularly those of folks I know on a personal basis. Same goes for my workplaces. However, commercial and public places and figures remain named. Otherwise some things just wouldn't make sense. 3) Links and sources have been provided where appropriate and possible. They are not meant to challenge anyone's ownership. If this causes any discomfort or offence, please let me know.

Visited

  • 78,172 times since 10 March 2009. Thank you and I hope to see you again!

