Sunday Night TV

April 20, 2009 at 17:23 3 comments

Last night was so miserably hot, I lacked the willpower to do anything besides lounge in front of the TV. Here’s what I saw:

First, the President’s Command Performance. Actually the reason I stuck with this was to watch Gabriel Ng play the violin. I knew Gabriel as a tiny tot, when he’d just started with lessons. Even at the age of four, he was awesome. He always took his time before launching into a piece, clutching at his little trousers to dry his hands one after the other, which made people laugh because he looked so cute. But the moment he started playing… wow. Even folks who had no interest in classical music would stop and watch in silence. He played Twinkle Twinkle Little Star with the same intensity as he did the Wieniawski piece, with that big fringe flying at expressive moments, except of course it was baby hair when he was small.

I am biased, but I preferred his performance to Kam Ning’s, despite her impressive Gershwinesque arrangement of Amazing Grace. His level of absorption in the music almost precludes the need for additional techniques of showmanship. The way he plays is really about the music, and very little about self-demonstration. Plus, I’ve always liked his shy aw-shucks demeanour, which comes as a surprise, given his talent and intelligence. I must say that, in comparison, I found Kam Ning’s proclamation of feeling like a Greek goddess on Mount Olympus a turn-off. 

After the news, I used the S-Factor slot to go have a cool shower. I’d tried to give the show a chance last week, but after I saw two pretty bikini’d girls trying to be polite about applying plates of cream to each other, with an offscreen guy screaming, “Smash boobs! Smash boobs!”, I kinda gave up. There are people who like this type of thing and people who get indignant about this type of thing. As for me, I just wish that this show would stop getting in the way of my Harper’s Island.

Harper’s Island… now that’s my type of thing. Agatha Christie’s 10 Little Indians was always one of my favourites, and here’s a show that seems quite similar. In essence, there is a party that boats to Harper’s Island for a snazzy week-long celebration of Henry and Trish’s wedding. The island was previously the site of several murders seven years ago, and the purported murderer was shot and killed. All the same, the murders are starting again. People die in every episode, often in gory ways (Lucy – dropped into a pit and set on fire; Uncle Marty – lower half of body severed), and the identity of the murderer is a mystery.

It’s only the second (out of thirteen – how apt) episode so far, and I don’t think it’s possible yet to deduce whodunnit. However, here are some of my guesses:

  • Abby (the Good Girl) will stay alive till the last episode, otherwise the show will lose direction
  • Trish will probably die, as will most of the bridesmaids and best men
  • Either Henry or Jimmy (Abby’s ex) will die, but not so soon, as someone needs to act as Abby’s ally
  • JD and Shane, the weirdo nasties, are unlikely to be the main villain X, but will be manipulated or recruited by X, and then slaughtered in horrific manners
  • Probably ditto for Thomas (the bride’s snob father) and Katherine (his second wife) Wellington
  • There will be more than one villain – either X will have help, or there are two independent murderers 
  • One of the villains will turn out to be an islander
  • X is someone who seems low-key and plain-vanilla, like Maggie (the inn manager)
  • X is Madison’s (the creepy kid) “new friend”, which suggests a woman and eliminates Madison’s parents, grandparents and Trish as X
  • X has Uncle Marty’s gun and will use it, possibly framing Marty, as someone has taken pains to send Henry an SMS from Marty’s phone, making it look as if Marty is still alive
  • Marty and Cal (the Brit chap) Know (in Marty’s case, Knew) Something… OK, that’s pretty lame, but it’s just a feeling

I will be staying tuned.

Entry filed under: Dear Diary. Tags: , , , .

Spotted: EZ929A Where Is My Smitten???

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  April 22, 2009 at 13:25

    Whoo hoo! A comrade at arms! I don’t know when I’ll be watching and then reviewing Harper’s Island episode 3 this weekend, but I’ll come back to see if you’ve done it to, and compare notes as best I can, since I don’t know anyone’s name.

    It’s probably all I have to offer you. My sense of smell is utterly without a palate, much less one refined enough to appreciate scent. I dig on shoes, though.

    Reply
    • 2. Katie  |  April 23, 2009 at 13:15

      There is a dizzying array of names, isn’t there? I still can’t pick out individual bridesmaids and groomsmen! I will be peeking at your blog as well. :)

      Reply
  • […] following the rest. Here are some more of my thoughts on what’s gone on so far. As in a previous post, I think that there are multiple killers and that one of them is an islander and one of them is […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!


My blog-name is Katie but I will not respond if you call me that in real life because it's not my real name. Yes, I do practise virtual-world paranoia. No, I do not enjoy stalkers. But I do enjoy writing and having folks reading said writing, so welcome to my world. It's nice to meet you.

Playing in my head over and over again argh

I'll Have To Say I Love You In A Song (Jim Croce)

Book(s) of the moment

Hogfather (Terry Pratchett)

Books read in 2010 and 2011

Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows (JK Rowling) - 'cos the movie's coming out!
Frankenstein: Lost Souls (Dean Koontz) - ah, bugger, it's part of a series! Now I hafta find all the books...
Dismantled (Jennifer McMahon) - oh, good one
Tigerlily's Orchids (Ruth Rendell)
Shutter Island (Dennis LeHane) - reminds me too much of work
Holy Fools (Joanne Harris) - it's official: I prefer her scary books
A Series of Unfortunate Events; The Unauthorized Autobiography; The Beatrice Letters (Lemony Snicket)
The Little Friend (Donna Tartt)
The main books - 11 so far - of the Southern Vampire series; the Aurora Teagarden series except for A Fool & His Honey - that makes it 7; Sweet & Deadly (Charlaine Harris)
The Woman in Black (Susan Hill)
Full Dark, No Stars (Stephen King)
Room: A Novel (Emma Donaghue)
Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children (Ransom Riggs)
The Bachman Books (Stephen King)
Men At Arms (Terry Pratchett)
Carpe Jugulum (Terry Pratchett)
The Fifth Elephant (Terry Pratchett)
Beauty (Robin McKinley)
The Sandman, Vol 1 (Neil Gaiman)
The Burden (Agatha Christie) - her crime novels are waaay better
Snuff (Terry Pratchett)

Visit my photoblog!

I started my first photoblog on 3 May, 2009. Each post features one picture, with a little story of how it came about. Do take a look by clicking on: Manx Pictures
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Delicious Bookmarks

Archives

Don’t say I didn’t say this…

Disclaimers: 1) I cannot help but bitch about work sometimes, but everything here comes under the realm of personal remarks, and nothing here is said in my professional capacity. Nor does anything here reflect the opinion of the institutions that employ me. This is just me shooting off. 2) Most identities have been anonymized, particularly those of folks I know on a personal basis. Same goes for my workplaces. However, commercial and public places and figures remain named. Otherwise some things just wouldn't make sense. 3) Links and sources have been provided where appropriate and possible. They are not meant to challenge anyone's ownership. If this causes any discomfort or offence, please let me know.

Visited

  • 77,728 times since 10 March 2009. Thank you and I hope to see you again!

